What qubits does

The flood of new applications and their potential for electronic media never lets up. Which of these technologies will win through? Which will flop? And in which of them lies potential that has not yet been fully developed?

Things that today sound outlandish can soon become an integral part of our daily lives. We have made it our mission to discover opportunities early and make technology useable for our customers. The aim is to offer them a clear competitive advantage.

We do this by constantly monitoring research and development across the globe and vetting new applications, new technologies and new ideas. We take these opportunities and turn them into concrete applications for our clients and their customers. Our services range from consultancy and conception through to concrete project management and implementation.

What drives qubits

| φ > = α | 0 > + β | 1 > is the formulation in quantum mechanics for a qubit and describes the physical behaviour of tiny particles, such as atoms. These quantum bits - known as qubits for short - are the smallest unit of information used in a so-called quantum computer. Imagine a normal computer but one that thinks in a totally different language.

Instead of bits - the 0 and 1 that all personal computers currently use - these new computers are based on qubits. These bits can take the form not only of the values 0 and 1 but an infinite number of other states. Using this characteristic, the quantum computer is capable of quickly solving the kinds of complex problems that cannot be solved by traditional computers. Although these machines are still in their infancy, qubits will clearly play an important and fundamental role in the future of encryption and information technology.

Was qubits macht

Die Flut neuer Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für elektronische Medien reisst kaum ab. Welche Technologien werden sich durchsetzen? Welche floppen? Und welche bergen ein noch unausgeschöpftes Potenzial?

Was heute noch verrückt klingt, kann in Kürze bereits Bestandteil unseres Alltags sein. Wir haben es zu unserer Aufgabe gemacht, Chancen frühzeitig zu erkennen und für unsere Kunden nutzbar zu machen. Mit dem Ziel, ihnen entscheidende Wettbewerbsvorteile zu verschaffen.

Das erreichen wir, indem wir Entwicklungen auf der ganzen Welt laufend beobachten und neue Applikationen, Technologien und Ideen auf Herz und Nieren prüfen. Aus Ansätzen machen wir konkrete Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für unsere Kunden und deren Konsumenten. Von der Beratung und Konzeption bis hin zur konkreten Projektbegleitung und Umsetzung.

Was hinter qubits steckt

| φ > = α | 0 > + β | 1 > ist die quantenmechanische Formulierung eines qubits und beschreibt das physikalische Verhalten kleiner Teilchen, wie z.B. Atomen. Diese Quantenbits - abgekürzt qubits - bilden die kleinste Informationseinheit für sogenannte Quantencomputer. Darunter kann man sich einen Computer vorstellen, der in einer grundlegend anderen Sprache denkt.

Anstelle von Bits - die 0 und 1 wie sie heute in allen PCs vorkommen - basieren diese neuartigen Rechner auf qubits. Diese können nicht nur die zwei Werte 0 und 1, sondern unendliche viele Zustände annehmen. Durch die Nutzung dieser Eigenschaft ermöglicht ein Quantencomputer das schnelle Lösen komplexer Aufgaben, welche mit klassischen Rechnern nicht zu knacken sind. Wohl ist die Entwicklung solcher Maschinen noch in den Anfängen, doch für die Verschlüsselungs- und Informationstechnologie spielen qubits eine grundlegende und in Zukunft zentrale Rolle.